Back On Track

Well, it’s been another chunk of time since I last wrote. But this post is much more positive. I say my Naturopath in December and we came up with a game plan. Anti-Inflammatory Diet. I am feeling much better. My anxiety has decreased drastically. I feel better about my eating choices. All in all, it’s pretty good. It was difficult at first to try and find the time to make the food I could eat. Almost anything in a package was out. I’ve been able to add some things back in to my diet successfully, and others not so successfully. The biggest food groups I still avoid are Gluten, Dairy, and Sugar. (Not that they are “food groups” per say, more like genres, but you get the picture) I recently splurged on some “still in the diet” junk food – organic kettle corn and some coconut milk ice cream (which is my major weakness) and I felt miserable after a day of garbage. Makes me not want to do it again. So, I’m happy with my food situation (finally) and plan to continue with it long into the future.

As for exercise, I’m back on that wagon, too. Last month I began my interval training again. When I started, less than a month ago, I ran/walked two miles in 30:56. That was about average for me. Yesterday, I ran/walked two miles in 27:32, running for two minutes at a time. It’s progress for me and I’m proud of it. My heart rate has also lowered when I exercise, so that’s getting into shape, too. We’ve got a big hike coming up on Memorial Day. Every year my husband and I join one if my Besties and her husband to hike the Multnomah Falls – Wahkeena Falls trail in the Gorge here in Oregon. It’s a beautiful hike challenging enough for me. I’m hoping it will be easier this year as I continue to workout, not just in interval walk/running, but with other cardio activity. I find that when I cross-train (if I can even call it that) the next time I do the previous type of exercise, my stamina has increased noticeably. So, today, I will do my Daily Burn workout (I’m just using the free trial) as a change from running, and hit the gym again Wednesday. It’s going to be a busy month, so I have to stay on top of my workouts.

So, what’s the result of all this eating right and working out – no surprise – and here’s the big reveal – as of this morning (and less than one year from when I started working with my trainer) I have lost 20.4 lbs. Yaaay!! Huzzah!! Yes, thank you, thank you for all your applause. Haha. I kid. But I am tremendously proud of myself. I know I have a long ways to go, but I have to keep reminding myself that I have come so far, too. Clothes that haven’t fit in years fit again. That, my friend, is great feeling all on it’s own. I feel slimmer. Things have firmed up, tucked in, and smoothed out. This is another huge motivator.

So, with all that in mind, I need to go whip up a delicious and healthy breakfast and then go (or stay, rather) workout.

